Could Not Be Replaced

money

There’s glass everywhere. There’s a man on the ground screaming in agony. A woman is yelling and fighting with car seats that seem content to not budge. I hear kids screaming and crying for their “mommy and daddy”. There’s a pounding in my chest where my heart would have been had it not dropped to the bottom of my stomach. There’s a crowd forming. People are on cellphones running towards us. Metal has taken on a new shape that is unrecognizable, clashed together in a way that makes it hard to know what it originally looked like. I can taste the familiar metallic ooze of my blood filling up in my mouth. My head is pounding so violently that it makes it hard to form a sentence. My back and neck feel like I’ve been struck by a million daggers. I look around dazed, unable to comprehend how this happened, trying to soak in the view in front of me. Then it hits me, colliding with my consciousness like a bulldozer…..

I’ve just been in a car accident. My four-year-old was in the car and someone just hit me…..

And that someone is the man lying on the ground.

Money has always been an easy to understand concept. The more you get, the happier WE think we will be. I can attest to the many afternoons where I sat outside daydreaming of winning the lottery. The cars, the houses, and the many luxuries I could afford once I got the extra cash. Oh, the beautiful things that I could get were wondrous and plentiful. But, what about the things we cannot buy with money? What about the essential things that we don’t think about, the things we overlook and take for granted? Time, health, love- to name a few. Why do we as a society not fill our free time thinking about the abundance of those things?

My life has completely turned upside down this year and because of that, I have started to look at it a bit differently. I no longer crave money and the fancy cars. I want time. I want time with my children, time with my husband, and time with my family and those that are most important to me. My daughter and I are fine along with the family that was in the other car, although we did suffer injuries from the accident we were extremely lucky unlike most people around the world who have lost their lives to a tragedy like this. I will say though that I did squeeze her tighter that night along with all my children. I held and spoke to my husband with more depth than I have in a long time. Money was not important to me that day. As it should not have ever been. I didn’t sit around daydreaming about the amount of money I had in the bank.  I didn’t fantasize about the big home I could afford or the expensive jewelry. I cared about the things that matter to me most. The things and people that truly could not be replaced, won, earned or given back to me. I truly appreciated the life that I had at that very moment. My wish for you through this post is that you never take for granted those who love you and the so little time and health you have. I pray that you never have to go through a misfortune of losing someone so very close to you or that you realize that your time with what is of the utmost importance in your life was taken from you and that time was cut short.

So as you sat around the Thanksgiving table, I hope your mind was on the people that are most essential to you and not the best deal you were going to get for Black Friday. I hope you told your mother you loved her, you told your dad how much you appreciate him being the rock in your family and looked at your brothers and sisters with love and gratitude. I hope you held your children and told them how much they mean to you and listened to those stories your grandparents have told you a million times just because it makes them happy to remember their prime years. I hope you told your significant other what they truly mean to you and how much they have contributed to the person you are today and the person you will become. Because those people won’t be around forever, they will leave you one day and the memories you make with them will be the only thing that helps to heal the hole in your heart that you will carry with you for the rest of your life. I hope you remembered those people can be taken from you in any second and no matter how much money you have, that life can never be bought back.

Remember what is important in your life and don’t push them aside or neglect them for things that mean nothing in comparison and remember the things you can never get back if they were taken from you.

I just want to say Happy Holidays to all my friends and family and to anyone who read this blog. I appreciate your time here and I hope you find your happiness and I pray you never take it for granted.

Leave a Reply

