I Didn’t Mean To…

I didn’t mean to fall in love with you.

It happened on its own

One day I felt you touch my heart

And I was never the same

I didn’t mean to fall in love with you

But you slithered into my consciousness

Unable to take you out

You set up camp and refused to let me turn away

I didn’t mean to fall in love with you

But now I feel you in my veins

Pulsating with every beat

You are my drug, my heroine

And I am completely addicted

I didn’t mean to fall in love with you

But my eyes will forever be rosy

I will never look at anyone the same

It will always just be you

I didn’t mean to fall in love with you

But these butterflies wouldn’t die

They constantly live in my stomach

Going crazy whenever you walk into a room

Whenever you glance my way

I didn’t mean to fall in love with you

But you have taken over my mind

Past failures, unrecognizable

There was no one before you and there will be no one after you

I didn’t mean to fall in love you

But you have taken over my body

It aches in your presence and is never fully satisfied

This yearning is relentless

I am always in need of you

I didn’t mean to fall in love with you

But my mouth only wants to speak to you and about you

There are no more important subjects, there is nothing else trending

My life revolves around you

I didn’t mean to fall in love with you

But you walked into my life

With one smile you captivated me

Turned me inside out

I didn’t mean to fall in love with you

I thought I had guarded my heart

But you gently took it from me and you’re holding it hostage

You say I will never get it back and I pray it’s true

I didn’t mean to fall in love with you

I didn’t need to fall in love with you

I didn’t want to fall in love with you

But…..I did.

Leave a Reply

